NaPoWriMo 2016: Day 12

The first meal I learned how to make was carabonara
a combination of egg, bacon, garlic, pasta, and a small kilamonjaro of cheese
To this day it is the easiest meal to make
and I have made it for many of my friends who aren’t vegetarians
my Italian friend Emma, from three years ago, even said it was good! And he’s Italian so that made me proud!

I learned to cook from watching my dad
he is the best cook i know
I watch him as if I’ll absorb his muscle memory through my eyes
When I’m old enough to drink beer we drink and I keep him company while he stirs in a shirt and no tie
with a tea towel on his shoulder
I sometimes catch myself doing the same thing with the towel
especially if someone is watching

My dad taught me how to make risotto over the phone
I did a tester batch and it was addictively good
I made it for a girl on our second first date
it wasn’t good enough to make her stay but we both had seconds

Everyone in my family cooks
My mother makes the best mac and cheese
she does something with the nostalgia
maybe grates it or finely sives it
either way it is baked right into the memory

Me and my brother get along better now
I went with him to a market in Barcelona and we bought ingredients
pork cuts and oranges and peppers and such
that night we sat outside
drank wine and ate pulled pork with my family and my other brothers girlfriend (who’s basically family now anyway)
Sharing a meal is the best thing to do with an evening

If I want to get to know a place or a time i like to think about the food
Texas is filled with charred brisket and bbq smoke
New Orleans is gumbo and other amazing sounding concoctions
Britain is a roast dinner
Christmas is a ham and drinks measured loosely
France is a hot chocolate and a pastry at 7am
Italy is my favourite
Visits home are whatever dad is making

I don’t cook as much as I should

I reckon I could cure just about any bad feeling with a good meal
not just the food
but the company around it
I always feel at home when I can talk over something I made with my own hands.

Leave a Reply

