NaPoWriMo: Day one

It was on the night I stayed awake

Like many nights

Listening

to The Doors,

Sun Kil Moon,

Among others

And I heard the wind rush the window

Rushing and rushing

And rushing

And rushing

And going down the street.

It wanted everyone to know

HEY WAKE UP!

THE WIND IS LEAVING!

It’s going south for a while

Or maybe east!

I don’t have a compass

but it’s leaving!

And a part of me wanted to go with it.

Travel.

Get up and go

3am wandering.

Hitch a ride.

Grab a boat

Or a plane.

Go to America.

Be a writer.

Fuck money!

Love a woman so hard it kills me,

Have her love me back!

Live!

Live!

Live everything in a rushing sound!

HEY WAKE UP!

THAT POET IS LEAVING!

The one who writes and doesn’t gig much!

The one no-one really knows about!

But I just laid there

In a warm bed.

Maybe tomorrow

I’ll have the balls to make a go of it…

Maybe tomorrow.

The wind rushed the window

Jim Morrison screamed

I sighed.

Leave a Reply

