Letters to the Girl

Dear love,
On the night you left the first time
I walked upside down through the night sky and watched the sun fall out of the city
The second night you left me I didn’t look outside until it was climbing in through my window
Both times I didn’t sleep

Dear love,
I don’t sleep so good anymore
I blame you
That’s not entirely fair
You see I blame the ghosts of you haunting every object in my house
The bed is the worst

Dear lover,
There are things I don’t do anymore
I can’t watch Miyazaki without you
It sounds so silly but there it is
I don’t write about other people anymore, trust me I’ve tried
But you keep sneaking in the back

Dear lover,
What have you done to me?
Dear lover,
How do I make it stop?
Dear lover,
I don’t want it stop
I just want this to be over
Dear lover,
I never said thank you
And now I never will
Dear lover,
How did you manage it?

Dear lover,
I started keeping images of you under my eyes
I got bruised from replaying them
One of these days I’ll stop
One of these days
Until then I pack restless nights under eyelids

Dear love,
I don’t sleep so good anymore
I blame you
And her.

Leave a Reply

